top of page

Review: Wet n wild Wild Shine Nail Polish

Now that it is summer I have a little more time to treat myself, and one of my favorite things to do it to paint my nails. Recently I picked up this gorgeous blue color from Wet n wild and decided to try it out.

I think everybody knows that Wet n Wild= cheap makeup, but does it mean good quality? I tested out Wet n Wild’s Wild Shine nail polish in the color “Bijou Blue” and the clear nail protector.

When I say cheap, I mean cheeeaaapppp. The polish is only $0.99 a bottle! And on top of that, drugstores often have 40% off or buy 1 get 1 free on Wet n Wild cosmetics so you can grab a bottle for even less!!! The polish comes in a variety of colors (24 shades) ranging from cream finishes to metallics and glitters. A matte top coat is also included in the line.

I started by washing, trimming, and filing my nails. Then I wiped down my nails with a cotton pad and some nail polish remover to make sure that my nails were squeaky clean. I didn’t apply a basecoat because I wanted to see just how long this polish could last by itself. The polish doesn’t come with any metal mixing balls so you might have to roll it between your palms a few times to get it all mixed up. Now for some reason I felt that the nail polish smell was extremely potent. I had to open the windows when I was painting my nails because it smelled so strongly of chemicals. The brush itself runs on the thinner side, but isn’t hard to use. The cap of the bottle is surprisingly easy to hold and fits in your hand rather well. It’s not as comfortable as a normal cylinder handle, but it still works great.

For the first coat, the polish was pretty sheer. It took around 3 minutes for the polish to dry, but I waited 5 minutes to be sure. I then applied a second coat and let it dry. From some angles the polish seemed to be completely opaque, but in others it was still quite patchy so I went in with a 3rd coat. After that dried the polish was completely opaque. By itself, the polish is sort of shiny, but not as shiny as I hoped it would be. After applying the topcoat there wasn't any noticeable difference in the shine. From the name of the polish “ Wild Shine” I was hoping for a high shine and very glossy looking polish, but sadly that wasn’t the case. When applying the topcoat I also made sure to wrap the tip of the nail to seal it all in.

I also was expecting for this polish to chip within 3 days, but guess what?!!! It didn’t!! The polish looked pretty fantastic well into the 5th day.

The only signs of wear were at the ends of the nail. There was also some slight chipping at the part closest to the cuticle. If your nails don’t grow as fast as my nails do then I’m pretty sure this polish would look even better on you!!

I would give this polish a solid 4.6 out of 5. It stays on for a long time, it’s easy to apply, it wears off nicely, and you can't beat the price!! The cons were the smell, the drying time, the lack of opacity, and the lack of extreme shine. If you don’t mind having to spend more time applying nail polish for it to last longer, then I would absolutely recommend this polish to you. It’s a great alternative to other nail polishes. I would give this product two thumbs up!


Intro

Just a typical girl who loves

lip products, beauty, and 

anything sugary.

Social Media

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Google+ - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle

Recent Posts

bottom of page