top of page

Review: Burt's Bees Lip Gloss

Ayyy I'm back with another lippie review! Now to be honest, I was drawn to this product because of the beautiful packaging and then kind of got sucked in and bought 3..maybe 4....ok 5 colors. I know I know, I have zero self control, but hey now I can swatch more colors for you guys!!

So let's start off with the packaging, again it's beautifulllll. This lip gloss is the perfect size to just throw in your purse, backpack, etc. It's also not too skinny and you get a decent amount of product in it. Now the cap, oh yes the cap, it's so detailed and just elegant. It's this dark umber color with a bee hive pattern on it. The pattern is raised so it feels really nice and also gives you a good grip when you apply the gloss. I just love how detailed Burt's Bees is with their packaging, and did I also mention that this product is 100% Natural!! Not only is it a beautiful product, it also isn't bad for your health!! That's a win win for me!

Moving on to the product itself, the 5 colors I got were Ocean Sunrise, Summer Twilight, Ruby Moon, Sweet Sunset, and Starry Night.

 

Lip Swatches:

On the Ulta website they cost $8.99 a piece, but you can find them in drugstores and sometimes there are coupons for Burt's Bee's products. All of the glosses contain gold glitter/shimmer in them, but once they are applied to your lips you can't detect any shimmer. The applicator doesn't allow much product to come out so I had to do 2 dips into the tube to get enough product. Keep in mind that I have pretty small lips so you might need more than 2 dips if your lips are bigger than mine. I found that the 2 reds/berry colors, Summer Twilight and Ruby Moon were more pigmented than the rest. Ocean Sunrise was the same color as my lips so I didn't really notice a difference, but Sweet Sunset and Starry Night are a little sheer.

These lip glosses aren't the gel type of lip gloss, they're more creamy like and give you a soft cushiony feel once applied to the lips. They also leave my lips nice and hydrated. However the smell, ohh the smell. I feel like Burt's Bees was trying to have a cake batter type of smell, but instead it smells like this off vanilla missed with a light chemical kind of smell. It just smells weird, trust me on this. The smell goes away after a little bit, but you can still taste it if you happen to lick your lips or something like that.

Pigmentation wise the glosses are somewhere in between a gloss that is really sheer, and needs a lipstick under it, and a gloss that is completely opaque. This product will sink into your lip lines so beware. They are thick but not sticky at all. However, they will probably slip and slide if you aren't careful.

So, if you are a person that doesn't really mind scented lip products, likes the feel of lip gloss, likes natural affordable products, and adores beautiful packaging, then this product is for you. I would give this a 3.5 out of 5 because I really dislike the smell and I don't like having to re-dip my wand back into the tube. Overall, it's a decent product, but could be so so soo much better without the weird smell.

Love

- Kat <3


Intro

Just a typical girl who loves

lip products, beauty, and 

anything sugary.

Social Media

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Google+ - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • Pinterest - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle

Recent Posts

bottom of page